A proposition is born.

“I’m thinking ‘If God made a litter tray liner…”, I said.

My boss, Gakushu (real name Felix), looked quizzically back at me.

“I have one comment, Dave,” he said. “If there is a God, he would have made this cat litter tray liner.”

“Hmm. That’s a great point, Gakushu-San. I thank you for your enlightenment.”

(Gakushu (real name Felix) likes us to thank each other for our enlightenment.)

“My enlightenment is freely given,” he replied (which is what he likes us to say after we’ve thanked each other for our enlightenment.) “Talk to me about what cats think.”

“Well, cats don’t really think…”

“Pause and breathe, Dave.” (This is what Gakushu (real name Felix) says when he means ‘shut the fuck up’.)

“I pause and breathe without ego, without preconception.” (This is what Gakushu (real name Felix) likes us to say after he’s told us to shut the fuck up.)

“Cats might not think like you and I think. But they instinctively feel. Which is a kind of thought. What do they feel about this litter tray liner?”

“Well…they mostly just shit and piss on it.”

“Yes. And…?”

“Erm…then they walk away from it?”

“And in what state of being do they walk away from it?”

“I guess…they walk away less in need of a shit or piss?”

“Good. Which means…?”

“That the proposition for this brief should be…’the litter tray liner that leaves cats less in need of a shit or piss’?”

“No, Dave. It means cats are happy after using it. And happiness is divinity. We know this, don’t we?”

“Yes?”

“So, this litter tray liner is almost a gift from the universe for cats. A gift from God, even!”

“So…”

“So the proposition should be, ‘The litter tray liner made by God’. Obviously.”

“But that’s what I…”

“Pause and breathe, Dave.”

“Right.”

“Good. Glad we got this sorted. I’m happy. You’re happy too, aren’t you?”

“Yes?”

“And why is that?”

“Because I am the planner?”

“Yes, Dave. Yes.”

 

Leave a Reply

